Primary health Awards

The annual Central and Eastern Sydney PHN (CESPHN) Health Awards aims to recognise primary health care professionals and organisations that have provided exceptional service or an outstanding contribution to primary health care in the Central and Eastern region of Sydney during the 2022/23 financial year.


Award categories

Award categories are for:  

  • Excellence in GP practice
    Demonstrate quality improvements in service quality and patient care.
  • Excellence in Allied Health practice
    Demonstrate quality improvements in service quality and patient care.

  • Excellence in community service delivery
    Open to community service organisations. Demonstrate improvements in service quality and care focused on meeting community needs.

  • Excellence in Aboriginal health and wellbeing achievement
    Open to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander organisations, community based, private or a public sector organisation that have made a positive contribution to developing the health and wellbeing of their community in which they serve. Can include Aboriginal or non-Aboriginal persons. 

Award guidelines

These guidelines apply for three categories, Excellence in GP practice, Excellence in Allied Health and Excellence in community service delivery only. Please note the Excellence in Aboriginal health and wellbeing achievement has separate guidelines and follows a separate process.

All of the awards can include individual or group nominations. Each category can identify achievements across a range of endeavours including the delivery of primary health care, education, research or community work. The service must be located in the CESPHN region. The activity must have been undertaken in between July 2022 to June 2023.

The criteria for each of the Nominees will be judged on the answers to the following:

  • A brief description of the service/program/person nominated for the award (max 100 words)
  • What was the health need or issue that the nominee addressed? (max 200 words)
  • Explain the intervention (max 300 words)
  • What were the measurable, demonstrated service quality improvements or patient/community outcomes? (max 300 words)
  • Support material including images can be provided if available, but this is not necessary (max 1 page)

Primary Health Awards

There will be three nominations shortlisted for each category. All nominees are invited to attend the awards ceremony.

The winners are announced at the awards event and receive:

Nominations will be open from 1 June 2023 until 2 July 2023

The Primary Health Awards will be held on Thursday evening, 31 August 2023 at Hazelhurst Arts Centre

2023 Primary Health Awards sponsorship opportunities

2022 Primary Health Award winners

Please contact if you have any queries about the awards.


Right Care, Right Place, Right Time.